Real Russia Blog

Russia Introduces New Russian E-visa Scheme

Russia set to introduce new Russian E-visa scheme from 1st January 2021

As of the 1st January 2021, Russia has introduced a new e-visa scheme for foreign nationals looking to visit the Russian Federation. This will apply to nationals in select countries for a variety of purposes including business, tourism, or participation in scientific, cultural, social, or political events.

To apply for the new e-visa, travellers can visit  

Currently, travellers may only apply for e-visas for St Petersburg, Kaliningrad and the Far Eastern Federal District although this is expected to cover the whole Russian Federation in the coming weeks.

Important: Due to the latest developments and new restrictions regarding the COVID-19 pandemic, all e-visas are currently suspended until further notice.

What you need to apply:

To apply for the Russian e-visa, you will need the following documents:

  1. A completed online application form (via the link above).
  2. A passport-sized photo.
  3. A copy of your passport photo page.

How long will it take to get the Russian e-visa?

You can expect to receive your e-visa within 4 calendar days of your application date. The visa will allow the holder a Single entry and will be issued for 60 days from the date of application. The maximum period in which the holder can stay in Russia is 16 days from the date of entry into the country (within the 60-day visa validity period).

Which countries are eligible to apply for a Russian e-visa?

Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Bulgaria, China (including Taiwan), Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungry, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, The Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Oman, The Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Vatican.

How your e-visa will be checked

The Government of the Russian Federation has approved a list of border checkpoints for e-visa holders which become operational from 1st January 2021.

If travelling from the UK, you can find checkpoints in several of Moscow’s airports including Sheremetyevo, Domodedovo and Vnukovo and Pulkovo Airport in Saint-Petersburg. Other checkpoints are also available, but due to COVID restrictions there are no flights to other cities from the UK at this time.

- Comments
Rate this article:

Categories: Real RussiaNumber of views: 1346

Tags: Russian visae-visa

blog comments powered by Disqus
comments powered by Disqus