Real Russia Blog

World Cup venues released 29th Sept

World Cup venues released 29th Sept

FIFA have announced plans to unveil the host cities of 2018’s World Cup in Russia live on Russian television Channel One during September 29th.
The broadcast will begin during the “Tonight” show at 21:20 local time (6:20pm, GMT) and will feature a joint unveiling from Sepp Blatter, the President of FIFA and the Russian Minister of Sport, Vitaly Mutko.
It is expected that 11 cities will be named out of the following 13 candidates: Kaliningrad, Kazan, Krasnodar, Moscow, Nizhny Novgorod, Rostov-on-Don, Samara, Saransk, Sochi, St. Petersburg, Volgograd, Yaroslavl, and Yekaterinburg.
After a FIFA delegation made visits to each prospective host city throughout Spring and Summer of this year, it has been suggested by Vitaly Mutko that Kaliningrad, Rostov-on-Don, Saransk, Volgograd, and Yaroslavl are the cities most under threat of being excluded.